Loyal Orange Lodge History in Western Canada

Some former prominent Western Canadian Orangemen  and                             Orange Prime Ministers

Major Stewart Mulvey, 1834-1908

Past Grand Master of the Grand Orange Lodge of Manitoba and the North West Territories. 1871-1880, 1884, 1889-1891.


Lieutenant-Colonel William Nassau Kennedy

Lieutenant-Colonel Nelson Spencer

Sir James Outram, Bt.

Past Grand Master, Grand Orange Lodge of Alberta 1918, 1919, 1920.  His primary lodge was L.O.L. No. 2078, Vermilion, AB where he served as Worshipful Master in 1916.  He was elected Master of Victoria County for the years 1917 and 1918. 

He was a member of the Royal Black Knights of the Camp of Israel in the Mannville Royal Black Preceptory No. 948.  He served as the Grand Registrar, Grand Black Chapter of Alberta from 1921-1925.  Brother Sir James was also a member of the Ladies Orange Benevolent Association in Vermillion or Mannville.  He was previously affiliated with lodge(s) in Manitoba.

Calgary's "Outram Memorial" LOL No. 2980 is named in his honour.    LINK  LINK  LINK   LINK

Orange Prime Ministers


  Sir John A. MacDonald   


John Diefenbaker


John Abbott

Sir Mackenzie Bowell


Fathers of Confederation


Commanding Officers of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, 1914 - 1918

( Researched and published by Alex Rough )

Orangemen who served as Commanding Officers in World War 1

Minister of Militia and Defence:
Sir Sam Hughes – L.O.L. No. 557
Sir A. E. Kemp – L.O.L. No. 140

C.O. of  3rd Division – Major General Malcolm Mercer, C.B. – L.O.L. No. 163
C.O. of 5th Division – Major General Garnet B. Hughes, C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O.  – L.O.L. No. 275
C.O. of the Canadian Army Dental Corps – John Alexander Armstrong, C.M.G., C.B.E.
C.O. of the Can. Army Chaplain Service – Rev. Richard Henry Steacy – L.O.L. No. 222
C.O. of Valcartier Camp – Colonel John Hughes – L.O.L. No. 311

Infantry Brigades
1st. Brigadier General Malcolm Mercer, C.B. – LO.L. No. 163 – September 22, 1914 – November 20, 1915
Brigadier General Garnet B. Hughes, C.M.G., D.S.O. – L.O.L. No. 275 – November 25, 1915 – February 13, 1917
10th.  Brigadier General William St. Pierre Hughes, D.S.O. – L.O.L. No. 557 – July 16, 1916 – January 18, 1917
11th. Brigadier General Victor Wentworth Odlum, C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O. – L.O.L. No. 1815 – July 10, 1916 – Demobilization
15th. Lieutenant Colonel Donald Matheson Sutherland – L.O.L. No. 999 - November 19, 1917 – March 11, 1918

Infantry Battalions
1st. Alfred Taylour Hunter – L.O.L. No. 613
2nd. Lorne Tolbert McLaughlin, D.S.O. – L.O.L. No. 764
7th. Victor Wentworth Odlum, D.S.O. – L.O.L. No. 1815
10th. Percy A. Guthrie – L.O.L. No. 20
12th. Harry Fulton McLeod – L.O.L. No. 20
15th. John Alexander Currie – L.O.L. No. 275
16th. John Andrew Hope, D.S.O.
19th. John Inglis McLaren – L.O.L. No. 857
21st. William St. Pierre Hughes – L.O.L. No. 557
25th. Chalmers Jack Mersereau, D.S.O.  – L.O.L. No. 90
31st. Nelson Spencer, D.S.O.  – L.O.L. No. 1549
39th. J. A. V. Preston – L.O.L. No. 192
51st. Wilbert Tait Stewart – L.O.L. No. 2575
52nd. Donald Matheson Sutherland, D.S.O. – L.O.L. No. 999    
56th. William Charles Gordon Armstrong
66th. John William Herbert McKinery, D.S.O.
71st.  Donald Matheson Sutherland – L.O.L. No. 999 & Alan Joseph McCausland
74th. Donald Matheson Sutherland & Alan Joseph McCausland
75th. Colin Clark Harbottle, D.S.O. – L.O.L. No. 275
84th. Wilbert Tait Stewart – L.O.L. No. 2575
101st. Daniel McLean – L.O.L. No. 1795
102nd. John Weightman Warden, D.S.O. – L.O.L. No. 1560
104th. * William George Fowler – Grand Master of G.O.L. of New Brunswick, 1890  - 1893
126th. Frederick J. Hamilton – L.O.L. No. 163
140th. Lewis Herbert Beer – L.O.L. No. 614
155th. Milton Kerr Adams – Grand Master of the Loyal True Blue Association
160th. Donald Matheson Sutherland – L.O.L. No. 999
162nd. James Arthurs – L.O.L. No. 1170
168th. William Thomas McMullen – L.O.L. No. 93
169th. Jessie G. Wright – L.O.L. No. 900
175th. Nelson Spencer – L.O.L. No. 1549
176th. Donald H. Sharpe – L.O.L. No. 296
181st. **George William Bruce – L.O.L. No. 943 & David Wilson Beaubier – L.O.L. No. 2035
183rd. William Thomas Edgecombe – L.O.L. No. 120 (‘The Orange Battalion’)
187th. Charles Wilson Robinson, O.B.E. – L.O.L. No. 2828
192nd. Henry Edward Lyon – L.O.L. No. 2224
198th. John Alexander Cooper – L.O.L. No. 4
201st. Edward William Hagarty – R.B.P. No. 344
203rd. Jeffrey Ellery Hansford – L.O.L. No. 1307
204th. William H. Price – L.O.L. No. 137
208th. Thomas Herbert Lennox – L.O.L. No. 643
220th. Basil Hatton Brown – L.O.L. No. 142 & L.O.L. No. 269
235th. *** Sidney Brandage Scobell
236th. Percy A. Guthrie – L.O.L. No. 20
255th. G. C. Royce – L.O.L. No. 207
260th.   Frederick C. Jamieson
* During World War 1 Fowler recruited the 104th Battalion and went overseas with them as their commanding officer and the battalion was broken up fill the needs of other infantry battalions who had suffered heavy losses.  Now comes a puzzling anomaly with the man.  When he enlisted in the Canadian Army in February, 1916 he gave his religion as ‘Pagan’.  How he got from Grand Master of the New Brunswick Orangemen in 1893 to listing his religion as Pagan in 1916 is a question that will probably will never be answered.

**At the end of 1915 he was appointed Officer Commanding the 181st. Battalion at Brandon, Manitoba.  After spending three months recruiting and training this battalion he became ill and was on his way home on leave to regain his health, when he died on the train at Chapleau, Ontario and he was buried at Toronto.

***At their meeting of June, 1916, Bowmanville L.O.L. No. 2384 initiated four members of the 235th. Battalion.  The C.O. of the 235th., Lieutenant Colonel Sidney Scobell, a past master  was present. He was asked to take the master’s office and chair the meeting, which he did.  
Frederick Charles Jamieson – 1st Divisional Cavalry Squadron (19th Alberta Dragoons)
Thomas Laird Kennedy – 2nd Divisional Cyclist Company – L.O.L. No. 1181
John Keiller McKay, D.S.O.  – 6th Brigade, C.F.A. – L.O.L. No. 613
Weldon Wilbert Melville – 1st Field Company, C.E. – L.O.L. No. 74
James Richardson Roaf – 4th Tunneling Company, C.E.
J. W. H. McKinery, D.S.O. – 7th Training Brigade
George William Fowler – 13th Canadian Reserve Battalion
Francis John Carew, O.B.E. – C.O. of No. 1 District, Canadian Forestry Corps – L.O.L. No. 557

car insurance quotes in el paso tx | auto insurance fitchburg ma | cheapest insurance auto | free quote for progressive auto insurance | cheap full coverage auto insurance cheapest | aba car insurance discount | cheap auto insurance in nj quotes